Meatballs for Christmas

My friend D. makes meatballs every year as part of her Christmas extravaganza.  She has hosted Christmas Day for decades, welcoming anyone who drops by with a smile.  She prepares for weeks before.  On Black Friday she makes the  meatballs.

Now we have been friends for nearly 50 years.  We met in high school.  We were and are total opposites, proving the old adage that opposites do, indeed, attract.  She is meticulous in her appearance, her house is a showplace, she has great taste and she labors over things like what to serve a guest for dinner or what color to paint a room.  She is a “fretter”.  I am not.  I have often said that somewhere between her and me is the perfect person.

Honestly, though,  to me she is a perfect person.  All her fretting and stress is for love of friends and family.  She is never really about D.  She’s all about the rest of us.  She takes time to consider our lives and our feelings.  She is always there with a helping hand or a shoulder to cry on.  She is always welcoming.  A cup of tea and some great conversation are things she and I share often.  I call her house the INN and her husband is the INN keeper.  As far as husbands go, he’s a winner.  He sits and listens to us cackle for hours and never makes me feel that I am infringing on his privacy. (By the way, my husband enjoys her company as well.  Just wanted to mention that).

My family lives close to her… I am 100 miles away.  When I visit, I stay with her.  My son and his family often visit me there and my grandson thinks that I live with Aunt D.  She knitted what turned out to be his favorite blanket.  He carries it everywhere.  She is part of the fabric of my family.

My point is, D. has been there through wedding night jitters, pre-baby jitters, personal crisis after personal crisis, illness, loss, happiness and joy.  She knows more about me than anyone else ever will.  She does not judge or criticize.  She is the definition of a friend and a perfect person.

So, when I shake my head at her stressing over the Christmas meatballs, it’s out of love and appreciation for having someone in my life who cares so much and so selflessly for others. I’m happy to be considered her friend.  I hope I am providing what she needs like she provides for me. I wish you all a friend like D.

Thanks for reading.  Have a great holiday and a great weekend.

4 thoughts on “Meatballs for Christmas

  1. Thank you so much…….you brought both tears & smiles. Nice to hear you mean so much to others. I’m glad to call you my friend & will always have an open door, a warm bed at the INN & tea!!!

Leave a Reply

